Using the Log this Cache facility a cache can be:
- Logged on the Geocaching website
- Saved for later logging
- Saved as a Draft to the Geocaching website.
On the left of the title bar is "Cancel". Tapping this will exit from logging and take you back to the Cache Details screen. On the right is either "Save" or "Send now depending on the setting of the Send Now switch.
Send Log Now
If this switch is on, then the title bar will show "Send Now" and the log will be posted on the Geocaching website when you click it. If the switch is off, then the title bar will reflect "Save" and the log will be saved for later editing and sending. The initial position of this switch is set in Settings Should you save your logs then you will need to send them at a later stage via the Pending Logs option in the More Tab
The date field defaults to the current date and time. The field is editable.
The log type can be set to Found It, Didn't Find It, Write Note, Needs Archived or Needs Maintenance. The default type can be set in Settings
Selecting this item will allow you to add/edit your message for your log and add images.
If you have selected a default Text Template in Settings then this will be displayed. Text can be added or edited.
By selecting the ••• in the top right corner of the message screen you will be able to insert a Keyword or a Text Template.
Keywords available are Cache Name, Date (3 formats) Owner Name, Time (3 formats), User Find Count, User Hide Count, Username.
Text Templates are set up in Settings
To add an image you need to tap the icon in the bottom left of the message screen. You can either add a image from you library on your phone or take a Photo. After selecting the image, you can add a description and then save it to the log.
If you switch this on a Favorite Point will be added to the cache if you are a Premium member of Geocaching and if you have Favorite Points available.
Save as Draft
If this switch is on, then the log will be saved to your Geocaching Dashboardon the Geocaching website as a Draft when you send it. You will need to go to your Geocaching Dashboard and submit the logs once you have edited them (if necessary)
Add Coordinates To Log
If this switch is on, then coordinates can be added to your log. The default is off. Switching it on will display your current coordinates. These are editable. This can be useful if the published coordinates are clearly wrong and you have found the cache and wish to share a better location with the Owner and later finders. Do not to this for Mystery and Multi-caches as it gives away the final location.
Selecting this option will allow you to log trackables in your inventory.
Each Trackable in your inventory can be selected and a log created to Drop the trackable or just to log it as visited. A messages and images can be added in the same way as in log messages above.
On the trackable screen is ••• on the top right corner. If this is selected, you will be able to Drop all the Trackables or log them all as Visited by selecting one of the options.
In the case of selecting all for logging, the message field in the trackable log will be blank.
If you have selected trackables for dropping or visiting you can deselect by swiping the trackable to the left and clicking "Remove"
Trackables selected to log are listed separate to those that are still available to log.
Cache Title and GC Code
The Cache GC Code and Title are displayed for easy reference
Encrypt Log Entry
If this switch is on then, the log will be encrypted using the ROT13 encryption. The default is off.