Settings

From Cachly Help Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This screen allows customization of Cachly settings.

Measurement[edit]

Use Metric System[edit]

When enabled, Cachly will display distance in metric such as meters and kilometers. When disabled, Cachly will display distance in imperial such as feet and miles.

Maps and Navigation[edit]

Automatic Search on Start[edit]

When enabled, Cachly will call geocaching.com and load up the nearest 50 caches when the Live Map is displayed. With this option disabled, the Live Map will load with no caches and you can manually request caches to load.

Show Cache Radius[edit]

When enabled, a circle radius will show around physical caches to indicate the minimum distance area where no other cache can be placed. The ring will encompass .1 mile/528 feet or 161 meters.

Prevent Map Rotation[edit]

When enabled, this option will prevent you from rotating the map when touching it or pinching and twisting your fingers on the display.

Clear Map on Refresh[edit]

This option is enabled by default upon a new installation of Cachly. Doing a new search on the Live Map after moving the map or changing filter options will clear the previous search and start a new search based on the center of the map. If this setting is disabled, previously loaded caches will remain on the map when doing a new search. An X button will also appear at the left of the button row at the bottom of the map. Tap the X to explicitly clear all search results from the map.

Allow Compass Calibration[edit]

If enabled, iOS will frequently display the compass calibration screen. If this setting is disabled, you shouldn't see what can sometimes be very frequent displays to calibrate the compass.

Since iOS 10 your phone should calibrate automatically.

Show Heading Indicator[edit]

When enabled, a small red arrow will show your heading direction (the direction you are facing the top of your device) for your current location on the Live or Offline map screen. If disabled, no heading indicator will be displayed.

Show FTF Indicator[edit]

When enabled and Cachly detects an FTF, an indicator will be displayed over the cache icon on the Live Map or Offline Map. If this setting is disabled, no overlay will be displayed.

Fit to Map[edit]

If enabled, the live map will zoom out to show all caches that were loaded. If further batches of 50 caches are loaded the map will continue to zoom out as each download is completed. If this setting is not enabled, the current map zoom level is maintained. When opening an offline list map view the map will show all caches in that list regardless of this setting.

Rotation Lock[edit]

This allows you to force Cachly to lock in portrait or landscape mode. Select All Orientations to allow the app to rotate as the phone is rotated.

This option is useful if you are out caching and frequently putting your phone in your pocket as your move between caches.

Display[edit]

Recent Logs Use Smilies[edit]

Recent log dots on the Cache Details will use happy and frowny faces for find and DNF logs instead of green and blue colors. Other log types will still use colors.

Offline List Clustering[edit]

Clustering can improve offline map performance when an Offline List has a very large number of caches. Clustering is only used for Offline maps and has no effect on the Live Map.

Use Map Clustering[edit]

When enabled, the Offline Map will honor the following Cluster options. If this setting is disabled, Cachly won't perform clustering of caches.

Cluster Grouping[edit]

This value indicates that minimum number of caches that will be clustered.

Cluster Threshold[edit]

This value is the threshold at which Clustering will be enabled. As an example, if set to 500, and an Offline List has less than 500 caches, no clustering will be done.

Max Zoom Level[edit]

The value represents the max zoom level at which clustering is used. After this level, all caches are shown on the map. Note: A smaller zoom level of 4 shows more of the map and higher zoom levels such as 18 will be very zoomed in.

Restore Defaults[edit]

Choosing this will reset the Clustering options.

Log Defaults[edit]

These settings set the default settings when tapping on the Log this Cache function for any cache. Even with these defaults set, you can override them when the Log screen is displayed.

Send Log Now[edit]

When on, this will enable the Send Log Now for all new cache logs. If on the logs will not be sent automatically but the Send Log Now tab will be set to on for all individual logging screens as the default. If this setting is off then the Send log Now tab will not be enabled and the log action on all individual logging screens will be set to Save. The tab can on the logging screen can be changed for each individual log.

Save as Draft[edit]

When enabled, this will enable the Save as Draft option for all new cache logs as the default. Submitting a log with this setting enabled will send the log to the Drafts section (https://www.geocaching.com/account/drafts) on the Geocaching website. This setting can be changed on individual logs.

Log Type[edit]

You can select the default Log type for all new cache logs. The options are:

  • Found it
  • Didn't Find it
  • Write note
  • Needs Archived

Combining the above 3 options such as disabling Send Log Now, enabling Save as Draft and setting your Log Type to Found it would be a good setting if you want to log offline. After uploading all your pending logs to Geocaching.com, they will be available as Draft logs (previously called Field Notes) off your Geocaching Dashboard. Go through each log in the Drafts section of the website, clean up your log entry, and submit them. Just remember, should you log a DNF, to change the Log Type on that particular cache in the field or at least before submitting the Draft.

Text Templates[edit]

Here you can activate and define default messages to be used for different log types. The use of these is explained in detail here Text Templates.

Did Not Find (DNF)[edit]

Show Cache Type on Map[edit]

When enabled, this option will show the cache type and DNF overlay at the same time. If not enabled, all you see is a frowning face with no cache type shape or color.

Found But Not Logged[edit]

Clear All Checkmarks[edit]

Clearing Found But Not Logged checkmarks will remove checkmarks from all caches and delete this database.

Pocket Queries[edit]

Download Images[edit]

When this option is selected, when downloading Pocket Queries, Cachly will download the images associated with those caches. If this setting is disabled, images are not downloaded for the caches included in the PQ.

GSAK[edit]

User Flag Sets Highlight[edit]

Setting the user flag in GSAK will highlight that cache. If enabled, this will cause Cachly to highlight the cache upon import of a GSAK GPX file.

Sorting[edit]

Re-sort on location updates[edit]

If sorting is set to distance, this option will allow the caches list to be re-sorted with each new location update. If this setting is unchecked, the cache distance to the caches will update in the List view but the order of the caches will remain as they were loaded.

Note that list sorting occurs once per minute and could take a while on very large lists. Also note that it can put more drain on your battery.

Misc[edit]

Decode Hint[edit]

When enabled, Cachly will automatically decrypt the hint when it displays the cache. If this setting is disabled the ROT13 view of the hint will be displayed. Even with this setting disabled, when viewing a cache hint that is encoded, you can click the three dots on the Hint screen and the option to Decode will be available.