Log Cache

From Cachly Help Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Cache logging is initiated from the Cache Details page. Using the "Log this Cache" facility a cache can be:

  • Logged on the Geocaching website
  • Saved for later logging
  • Saved as a Draft to the Geocaching website.


Logging Page.png
The logging screen enables you to select how and when you will log your cache.

Title Bar[edit]

On the left of the title bar is "Cancel". Tapping this will exit from logging and take you back to the Cache Details screen. On the right is either Save or Send Now depending on the setting of the Send Now switch.

Send Log Now[edit]

If this switch is enabled, then the title bar will show "Send Now" and the log will be posted on the Geocaching website when you click it. If the switch is disabled, then the title bar will reflect "Save" and the log will be saved for later editing and sending. The default position of this switch is set in Settings. Should you save your logs then you will need to send them at a later stage via the Pending Logs screen under the More Tab.

Date[edit]

The date field defaults to the current date and time. The field is editable.

Log Type[edit]

The log type can be set to Found It, Didn't Find It, Write Note, Needs Archived or Needs Maintenance for most caches. The default type can be set in Settings. Additional log options are available for events, webcams, and caches you own.

Message[edit]

Selecting this item will allow you to add/edit your message for your log and add images.

If you have selected a default Text Template in Settings then it will be displayed. Text can be added or edited.

By using the ••• Action button in the top right corner of the message screen you will be able to insert a Keyword or a Text Template.

Keywords available are Cache Name, Cache Code, Cache Country, Cache State, Cache Size, Date (3 formats), Day of Week, Owner Name, Time (3 formats), User Find Count, User Hide Count, Username.

To add an image you need to tap the icon in the bottom left of the message screen. You can either add a image from your library on your phone or take a photo. After selecting the image, you can add a description and then save it to the log.

Favorite Cache[edit]

If you enable this switch a Favorite Point will be added to the cache if you are a Premium member of Geocaching and if you have Favorite Points available.

Save as Draft[edit]

When enabled, sending the log will be saved to the Geocaching website as a Draft. You will need to go to your Drafts on the Geocaching Dashboard and submit the logs once you have edited them (if necessary).

Add Coordinates To Log[edit]

If this switch is enabled, then coordinates can be added to your log. This option is disabled by default. Switching it on will display your current coordinates, but they can be edited if needed. This can be useful if the published coordinates are clearly wrong and you have found the cache and wish to share a better location with the Owner and later finders. Do not do this for mystery and multicaches as it gives away the final location, and the CO may be tempted to delete your log.

Trackable Drop/Visit[edit]

Selecting this option will allow you to log trackables in your inventory.

Each Trackable in your inventory can be selected and a log created to Drop the trackable or just to log it as visited. A message and images can be added in the same way as in log messages above.

On the trackable screen is ••• actions button in the top right corner. If this is selected, you will be able to Drop all the Trackables or log them all as Visited by selecting one of the options. In the case of selecting all for logging, the message field in the trackable log will be blank.

If you have selected trackables for dropping or visiting you can deselect by swiping the trackable to the left and clicking Remove. Trackables selected to log are listed separate to those that are still available to log.

Cache Title and GC Code[edit]

The Cache GC Code and Title are displayed for easy reference.

Encrypt Log Entry[edit]

Enabling this option will encrypt your log entry with ROT13 encryption. This option is disabled by default.